Wednesday, November 3, 2010

27 GOP Women Elected to Congress And Governorships

In the GOP Year of the Woman, a record number of women won office last night for Republicans, including ten women specifically endorsed by Gov. Palin.

There are three new Republican women governors and seven newcomers to the House of Representatives to join 12 incumbent women, and one incumbent governor.

1. Kelly Ayotte - New Hampshire - U.S. Senate


2. Jan Brewer - Arizona - Governor - (Incumbent)

3. Susana Martinez - New Mexico - Governor PALIN PICK
4. Mary Fallin - Oklahoma - Governor  PALIN PICK
5 .Nikki Haley - South Carolina - Governor PALIN PICK

U.S. House of Representatives

6. Martha Roby AL-02  PALIN PICK
7. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen FL-18 - (Incumbent)
8. Sandy Adams FL-24 PALIN PICK
9. Judy Biggert IL-13 (incumbent)
10. Lynn Jenkins KS-02 - (incumbent)
11. Candice Miller MI-10 (incumbent)
12. Michelle Bachmann MN-6 (incumbent) PALIN PICK
13. Vicky Hartzler MO-04 PALIN PICK
14. Jo Ann Emerson MO-8 (incumbent)
15. Renee Ellmers NC-02 PALIN PICK
16. Virginia Foxx NC-05 (incumbent)
17. Sue Myrick NC-09 (incumbent)
18. Dr. Nan Hayworth NY-19
19. Jean Schmidt OH-2 (incumbent)
20. Kristi Noem SD
21. Diane Black TN-6
22. Marsha Blackburn TN-7 (incumbent)
23. Kay Granger TX-12 (incumbent)
24. Jaime Herrera WA-03
25. Cathy McMorris Rogers WA-05 (incumbent) PALIN PICK
26. Shelley Moore Capito WV-02 (incumbent)
27. Cynthia Lummis WY (incumbent)

Palin pick Ruth McClung (AZ-7) was still too close to call, but appears to be a close loss. Ann Marie Buerkle (NY-25) has surged into a few hundred-vote lead but the results are not yet official.

Update: Ruth McClung was defeated, and Ann Marie Buerkle won.

No comments:

Post a Comment